Acacia’s Sweet 16

  

I know this is kind of late to be posting, but it’s better late than never right?

 

When my cousin Acacia was facing turning 16 on March 7, 2008 (oh my God, she’s 16) she asked if I would decorate her cake for her. I decided to use real flowers and that became my present to her. While I was in the kitchen at the Elks Lodge, the men and women helping out from their church began watching me and a few of them even said that they would keep me in mind the next time they needed a cake.

 

Most of the people here in my town know that I’m the cake decorator at Baskin Robbins, but quite a few of them have asked me if I do cakes on the side that aren’t ice cream cakes. I never considered it until Acacia’s party. Now I figure that I can do a couple here and there for a little extra income.

 

One of Acacia’s requests was to have the cake tiered. This was the first time that I ever did a tiered cake with real cake and not the Styrofoam cake “dummies” that I use when entering a cake in the Tri County Fair. It turned out great, but the cakes ended up being too moist and after I put all the fresh flowers on and got the top tier on the cake, we started taking pictures and I thought I could breathe. Boy was I wrong. I was about to leave to change for the party when we realized that the top tier was beginning to lean to the front. The flowers weighed just a little too much for the moist cakes and I decided that before the top tier fell, we took it off and Acacia ended up with two cakes instead of one and she was perfectly fine with that.

 

Everyone got the pictures they wanted and then it was time for me to shock just about everyone who wasn’t my family. I was the one who took apart the cakes. People are almost always afraid to destroy cakes in front of the person who decorated them. Not me. The reason why I do what I love is so that you can “ooh” and “aah” about the beauty of the cake, take pictures (that can last for years) and then you cut up the cake and enjoy it. Just to hear someone say that they love my cakes is all the justification I need to keep doing what I love.

Leave a Reply

