In Loving Memory of Granna

Shirley a.k.a. Granna - 19 Years Old

Shirley a.k.a. Granna - 19 Years Old

Shirley, or Granna, was born on December 27, 1927 in Providence, Rhode Island and passed away on June 27, 1985 in Ventura, California at the age of 57. She was a loving mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother. She passed away from cervical cancer.

This day of the year never gets easier for me and I know it can be hard on my family as well. I was three years old when she passed away and some people have told me over the years that I shouldn’t feel too bad on this day only because I didn’t really get the chance to know her. She lived in Ventura and I have lived almost my entire life over 200 miles away in Bishop. She was still my grandmother and I love her so much even if I didn’t get the chance to know her.

Granna with a Stripper

Granna with a Stripper

I only have one memory of Granna and it had to be shortly before she passed away. We were in Santino’s Pizzaria in Ventura and I told her that I wanted to play one of the games they had. She took me into the little room and propped me up on her knee and let me hit the buttons on the sides of the pinball machine while she launched the ball. I’m not sure if that is the reason I love pinball machines so much, because they remind me of her, or if it’s just fun to play. In the memory I can’t remember her face unless I get really upset, stressed or angry, then her face pops up in that memory and I calm down a little. I can, however, pick her out of any photos people show me.

She has left behind 5 children, 11 grandchildren, and 8 great-grandchildren and we all miss her so much. She had a wonderful spirit and a sense of humor. Our family continues to grow and she is always in our thoughts and prayers. We know that she is always watching us and keeping us safe.

God Bless you Granna and may your wonderful spirit rest in peace!

Leave a Reply

