Book Review: The Host

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

I have now read all of the books in publication right now by Stephanie Meyer and my love for her writing is growing stonger. When I first heard about this book I was skeptical only because I’m not a big science fiction reader, but I glad I gave The Host a try. I loved it.

“I was the soul they spoke of. It was a new connotation to the word, a word that had meant many other things to my host. On every planet we took a different name. Soul. I suppose it was an apt description. The unseen force that guides the body.” ~ Wanderer, chapter 2.

The Host is a story about an alien who is living her first life on Earth and is trying to understand the human emotions her “host” Melanie is still having. The host is supposed to disappear once the soul is inserted into the body, but Melanie refuses to leave. She convinces her host, Wanderer, to go on a journey together to find Melanie’s family who hasn’t been taken by the souls and is now in hiding in the Arizona desert. Throughout their journey, Wanderer discovers life, love, friends and what exactly defines a human.

This is a great read for anyone who wants to read sci-fi, but doesn’t want all the technical gibberish that usually goes along with the genre and doesn’t mind a little love story along with it.If you would like read any of my other reviews, please feel free visit my Goodreads profile.

Leave a comment