Seven Awards at the Tri-County Fair…

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

Today marked the first day of the Tri-County Fair here in Bishop, California and I am proud to announce that I have placed on seven of my nine entries. I recieved first place on my peanut butter cookies and my crazy quilt block, third place on my wedding cake, chocolate chip cookies, double chocolate biscotti, and a cookie recipe in a jar, and an honorable mention on my corn bread. All the baked goods are gluten-free and I’m glad that I placed on them because it gets the word out there about gluten-free baking. The two things I didn’t get awards on were my banana bread, which placed third last year but I tweeked the recipe this year, and the Favorite Cookie Contest which I made pumpkin cookies with pecans and craisins. This was the fourth time I entered the Favorite Cookie Contest and I still have yet to place, but I’ll just keep trying until I win the $150.00 grand prize.

I keep tweeking my recipes until I find the right combination of flavors that will please just about everyone. It’s difficult to try and guess what the judges will like because in any contest involving food, it’s up to the judge’s personal preference. Any of the food entries are the biggest and hardest to recieve awards. I hope one day that the Fair will have a gluten-free catagory, but I think that day is far off. More and more people ask me what it means for something to be gluten-free and why I bake that way. I explain what my celiac disease is and, if anything, it gets the word out there about the disease and what it takes to live with it.

Crazy Quilt Block
Crazy Quilt Block
Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Biscotti
Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Biscotti
Cookie Recipe in a Jar
Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies with Pecans
"A Fall Wedding"

"A Fall Wedding"

Gluten-Free Corn Bread
Gluten-Free Corn Bread
Gluten-Free Banana Bread with Pecans and Craisins
Gluten-Free Banana Bread with Pecans and Craisins
Leave a Reply

