A Smile in the Mail

A Smile in the Mail

I think the most of the readers of this blog know that I’m on Twitter. I have mentioned it once or twice. While I have lost friends which happens in life, I have gained many more via the internet. I know the internet isn’t the safest place in the world. You can be anyone you want to be and nobody would know. I feel more comfortable being me on the internet. In person, I feel like I don’t know how to be me. I build a wall around myself, protecting me from any ridicule that might come my way being around people. I’ve been judged one too many times in my life. People, especially in a small town, tend to assume things that aren’t true. I’m guilty of it too. Rumors fly around too easily in a small town and they are hard to break if they center around you. Trust me. I’ve been there.

So Twitter and my blogs have become my escape from the small town I live in. I have been careful as to who I choose to get close to on the internet. My parents taught me right. I feel like I’ve gained a few friends whom I trust with some information I haven’t given to others.

I started chatting with Tia after stumbling onto her blog while looking for some new gluten-free recipes to try. I noticed that she was on Twitter and decided to follow her. I became a regular on her blog and love reading about her many adventures of being a mom, a military family and living with probably more food allergies than I have, which I didn’t think was possible. I feel like I’ve watched her children grow through her pictures she and her husband Christopher choose to share with the world. I have read about the ups and downs of her life and have motivated me to blog more (even though I still post every now and then).

A few days ago, I was trying to come down from a very hectic and stressful few weeks and Tia asked for my address. It’s one thing I don’t give out to many people but I feel like I can trust her with anything. Even though we’ve never met, I love her like I do my best friend whom I’ve been friends with for 21 years. Today I got her present – a smile in the mail. I’ve been waiting for it, anxiously checking the mailbox. It almost felt like Christmas when you wake up extra early to see the presents Santa has left while your parents sleep, ignoring your requests to get up at 4 in the morning because you want to see what new toys wait patiently to be played with while sitting quitely under the tree, dressed in brightly colored paper waiting to ripped to shreds in your excitement.

Like Tia promised, I smiled and have been smiling all day. It’s a little gesture to let you know that there is someone in the world who is thinking of you. I hope that one day Tia and I meet, even if it takes me driving to Texas. I already told her to find me an Air Force hottie and I’ll move in next to her so we can exchange gluten-free recipes and cook for each other. I think it’d be fun.

That’s what I like about blogs. They are a way to get a glimpse into someone’s life. An escape from yours in a way. And for the author of the blog, it’s a way to vent any frustrations life throws your way, or share something really meaningful that happened in your life. Even something as small as a smile in the mail.

Thank you Tia for my smile. I truly do love it and you for always thinking of others the way that you do. You are a great person, wife, mother and someone I call my friend. I hope this entry will give you a smile like you have given me today. I am so glad that we “met” on Twitter. 🙂

One thought on “A Smile in the Mail

  1. Awww, you are more than welcome, and absolutely deserving of a smile. A simple postcard isn’t much, but I know that its the little things that, that brighten my day. I’m so glad we met too 🙂

Leave a Reply

