Flashback Friday

It took me a while to decided on what to write for my Flashback Friday and I got home late after getting my hair done (I’ll post tomorrow) so I don’t have a lot of time to write. Here it goes…

Five years ago, we had one of our heaviest winters that we’ve had in a long time in Bishop. We had snow on the ground for almost two months. Very unlikely. On December 31, 2005 I was surfing in the internet while listening to the repeats of the ball dropping in New York City and keeping an eye on the weather report. I looked outside when midnight hit and sure enough it was snowing. Small flakes were coming down; I didn’t think anything of it. According to the weather report, Bishop was only going to get about two inches. Not a big deal. I didn’t have to work for a few days so I knew I wouldn’t have to drive in it.

The front of my apartment complex.

The next morning my best friend, Mindy, came over and woke me up by knocking on my front door. I wanted to sleep in but that didn’t happen. When I opened the front door all I could say was, “Where the fuck did that come from?” Pardon my language. I was still somewhat asleep. I found myself staring at two FEET of fresh hard packed snow.

Now anyone who has been around a lot of snow knows why I say hard packed snow. Snow can be wet or dry. Dry is referred to as powder and very good (or so I’ve been told) for skiing and snowboarding. Wet snow is different. That is the type that gets you instantly soaked and doesn’t really allow you to warm up. I don’t like being in snow to begin with. This was also the year that I decided to take a few pictures before I had to be at work. When I got outside of my apartment, I stepped on black ice and dropped my digital Canon Rebel camera, which I had only had for about eight or nine months, from about five feet onto concrete and it landed in a puddle of water. I quickly grabbed it out of the water but was more focused on my body. I landed on my hip and was bruised for days.

The view from my front door.

These pictures are from the first night in the snow as Mindy drove down Main Street where we laughed our asses off at the skiers freaking about because they couldn’t figure out how to put chains on the tires and from the next day.

A couple of kids made some snowmen out front.

The view up the street toward my high school.

A leaf captured inside an icicle.

Driving down Main Street.

 

If you would like to know more about Flashback Fridays please visit Christopher and Tia’s blog by clicking the link below.

Leave a Reply

