Weight Watchers

I know I said that I would share my pictures today, but I was busy running around like a chicken with my head cut off today doing errands. I’m not sure I really would have left my apartment today if my brother hadn’t called shortly after I woke up this morning. My brother started a handy man business last year after not even getting job interviews. It is so hard to get a job lately but Bryan got called to do a lot of odd jobs for people so it got him thinking about starting up an actual business. It’s something that I would like to do one day but for now, I’m grateful for the job I have and truly do enjoy what I do.

Anyway. One week ago today, I started Weight Watchers. Over three years ago I was doctor ordered to lose weight. I know I’ve talked about this before but I haven’t really discussed it in detail. In July 2009 after a year and a half of belonging to the Biggest Loser Club I hit my 50 pound loss mark. The Biggest Loser Club really did save my life, but after I hit that 50 pound loss mark, depression kicked in and I gained over half that back. No matter how hard I tried to get back onto the diet, I wasn’t losing any weight. I didn’t really gain either.

One thing that I think made it harder to be on the Biggest Loser Club was that I felt like the only one in Bishop that was on it. I don’t know if that was true or not but I never really felt like I had the support of people going through the same as me. Don’t get me wrong. I had all the support of my family and friends, but I still didn’t have anyone to really talk to about the program itself. I truly did save my life because it showed that I can lose weight. I proved it to myself.

My co-worker told me about Weight Watchers. I’m not sure how long she’s been on it but she told me that she saw something about gluten-free on there. On my lunch break last week, I looked it up. I figured, why not? The antidepressants are helping me to focus on what’s right in front of me and to also focus on myself. I know I need to lose weight. There is no way I should be this heavy at my age, or any age for that matter.

I’ve really been pushing myself to understand the program and to see food in a way that I haven’t in a really long time. I shop smarter for food and have noticed that I’m saving money and the food I’m buying are lasting longer. I feel like I get to eat more with Weight Watchers but I’m now filling up on the proper foods. I eat more fresh fruit and vegetables. Tonight I cooked sweet potatoes for the first time in my life and loved them. I don’t like sweet potatoes but I have been craving them for a few months now and don’t know why. If I fix them like I did tonight, I know I will eat them more often.

I said that I would weigh myself every Sunday. Weight Watchers also lets you keep track of your measurements, not just your weight. I have avoided that scale every day this week, until yesterday when I set it on the floor in my kitchen. I took a deep breath and stepped up onto it. I watched as the numbers flickered until it landed on a number I didn’t expect. I stared at the number. It had to be a mistake. I haven’t exercised like I know I need to. I over-ate one day. I started Weight Watchers at 251 pounds. Yes I don’t have a problem telling the world that. Yesterday I was staring at 247. Four pounds in one week. I immediately grabbed my measuring tape. I lost inches, or at least something, on everything. I couldn’t believe it. Four pounds in a week is huge for me.

I cannot wait to see what next week has in store for me. For once in a very long time, I know I can take charge of my body and get to where I want and need to be in order to be healthy. That’s the main change I want this year for me. I want to be healthy. I want to be in shape. I’m even thinking about a marathon in a few years.

One thought on “Weight Watchers

  1. Hey, that’s awesome!! Good for you. I also struggle with my weight, infact, my whole blog is dedicated to my weight. I suffer depression too, which makes it even harder, so I totally understand where you are coming from. Dieting while depressed is next to impossible. I hope you keep us informed of your progress.

Leave a Reply

