Inspiration

My book of favorite quotes.

I remember the first time I saw the movie A Walk to Remember and I immediately read the book afterward. I read the book by Nicholas Sparks in less than 24 hours. There was one part in the movie and I cannot remember if it’s in the book. Jamie gives Landon her mother’s book of favorite quotes. It was something so simple and probably insignificant to most people, but it was something that stuck with me throughout the years.

“I like nonsense. It wakes up the brain cells.” ~ Dr. Seuss

I don’t remember when I started my book of favorite quotes, but I know that a lot of mine have not made it into the book yet. I will get there eventually. I copied quotes from books, movies, people, whatever. Anything that I felt was good inspiration of quotes that just made me smile, made it into my book. I started keeping one because I think it is a great thing that I hope to one day pass to any children I may be blessed with.

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.” ~ Princess Diaries movies

People who know what religion I am find it interesting that I have a passage from the Bible on the first page of my book. You have to understand that my family is a mix of religions and I was once Christian myself and still have my two Bibles. They are packed away safe in a box at my parents’ house and one day they will make their way back onto my shelf. I still believe and follow many of the advise the Bible has to offer. I just choose to follow a path that feels right in my soul.

“Love is always patient and kind. It is never jealous. Love is never boastful or conceited. It is never rude or selfish. It does not take offense and it is not resentful.” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:4

Another few pages.

I started keeping a reading journal when I read books. It all began about three years ago when I read The Orphan’s Tales: In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente. It is an excellent book but kind of hard to follow. It is many small tales all wrapped up into one big, amazing adventure through a world that is beyond imagination. It all makes sense at the end once you’ve lost track of all the stories. I found that the two books in the series held quite a few pieces of advise.

“Some who deserve failure do not achieve it. Some who deserve nothing are given the world.” ~ The Fox, The Orphan’s Tales: In the Night Garden by Catherynne M. Valente

I will share a few more of my favorites of the favorites.

“Stories were different though they came alive in telling. Without a human voice to read them out loud, or a pair of wide eyes following them by flashlight beneath a blanket, they hold no real existence in our world. They were like the seeds in the beak of a bird, waiting to fall to earth, or the notes of a song laid out on a sheet, yearning for an instrument to bring their music into being. They lay dormant, hoping for the chance to emerge. Once someone started to read them, they could begin to change. They could take root in the imagination, and transform the reader. Stories wanted to be read… They needed it. It was the reason they forced themselves from their world into ours. They wanted us to give them life.” ~ Narrator, The Book of Lost Things by John Connoly

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” ~ Albert Einstein

“The tears happen. Endure, grieve, and move on. The only person who is with us our whole life is ourself. Be alive while you are alive.” ~ Unknown

“If you take a book on a journey, an odd thing happens: The book begins collecting your memories. And forever after you have only to open the book to be back where you first read it. It will all come into your mind with the first words: the sights you saw in that place, what it smelled like, the ice cream you ate while reading it… yes, books are like flypaper – memories cling to the printed page better than anything else.” ~ Mo, Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

“Everything I need to know about life, I’ve learned by reading a banned book.” ~ Unknown

“The glass is not half empty, the glass is not half full, there is the perfect amount of liquid, the glass is just too damn big. We should be thankful for what we have been given and want for nothing more.” ~ Dustin Pari, TAPS Member, in his Myspace farewell message 8/20/07

I guard all of the quotes that have made it into my book with all my heart. Every single one of them holds a special meaning and I flip through the pages every now and then when I just need a little push in life or just need a smile.

Leave a Reply

