Friends

Like anyone, I’ve had a lot of friends in my life and lost quite a few over the years as well. I’ve only kept a few friends throughout the years that truly mean something in my life. I believe that only a handful were brought into my life for a reason.

“Friends are angels who lift us to our feet when our wings have trouble remembering how to fly.” ~ Unkown

Mindy and Me at Homecoming

I don’t know who wrote that quotes but I think that is the true definition of a friend. My best friend Mindy and I have been friends since first grade. That’s about 22 1/2 years. We are complete opposites and love each other with our hearts and souls. I firmly believe we are soul sisters. She’s the closest thing I have to one.

Mindy and I have been through quite a bit in life. I have watched her struggle with relationships, while she’s watched me struggle with trying my hardest to get noticed without luck. Mindy and I now live 600 miles away from each other and life tends to get in the way of being able to find time so we can talk on the phone.

It’s hard to find friends that will stick with you throughout life’s obstacles. When I decided to find a religion that felt right in my soul rather than just my heart, I kept it from my friends for the longest time. We all went to youth group together and hung out at Denny’s after. When I told them that I had found a different religion that just felt right for me, they all reacted different. Afterward, we all slowly started to distance ourselves, but it was mainly because we were discovering who we were as adults and started living our lives.

I don’t know if my change in religion had anything to do with losing contact with a lot of my friends, most of them that I’ve been able to talk to occasionally say that it’s not, but something makes me think that it is. I’ve managed to keep in touch with a few of them over the years and they have been the ones to support me in whatever decisions I have made in life.

That is the true definition of a friend. Someone who will stand by your side, no matter what, tell you that you’re being an idiot and not worry about the consequences. They will be there for you no matter what. If you are hurt they will do anything they can to be with you, even if it’s only by a phone call. They are the friends that are a second family to you.

Mindy and Me, July 2009

Leave a Reply

