My New Morning Routine

I used to have a pot of coffee waiting for me in the morning, but ever since I started Weight Watchers, I have had one smoothie every morning. They haven’t gotten old yet either. I usually mix it up a bit. They are so easy to make and very healthy for you. Here’s how to make one (I’m sorry I don’t have pictures to share):

Add about a cup to 1-1/2 cups of frozen fruit in a blender. Use whatever fruit you want. My favorite is strawberries. Add a banana, about 1 cup soy milk (you can use regular milk if you’re not lactose intolerant) and one container of yogurt. I use whatever flavor soy yogurt I want and most of the time it’s vanilla or a flavor that is the same as fruit I’ve used.

Pulse the blender until most of the ingredients are blended and then turn the blender on a low speed, my actually says blend. Once the ingredients are fully blended and moving easily in the blender, turn it off.

There is my morning smoothie. Easy to make and healthy for you. Just those few ingredients are anywhere between 8 – 15 points for Weight Watchers. Be careful if using raspberries that are frozen. They are usually sweetened and they have the higher points. I try to make those only if I know I’m going to be working out that day. I enjoy drinking smoothies in the morning and they usually seem to give me the same amount of energy as a pot of coffee. Since I started having smoothies in the morning, I’ve cut down on the amount of coffee I drink in a day. I still make room for my Starbucks. I don’t think I’ll ever give that up, but I have switched to sugar-free syrup and I enjoy that more than the regular stuff.

Leave a Reply

