My Favorite Moment of Comic Con 2010

Today at work I started getting a headache at about three o’clock and it has turned into a migraine. I usually only get them when I have come in contact with gluten but I cannot think of any time that I did except for handling a pizza box, but I know I didn’t touch my face after that. If you have never had a migraine, pray that you never do. It sucks. It feels like someone is slowly drilling into my skull in between my eyes. Light and sound are excruciating. So I will make this quick since sleep is the only thing that cures my migraines.

I finally got my laptop up and running last night which I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am about that. Shortly after Comic Con last year I got hit with a virus, the day after my anti-virus software expired. Go figure. So I never got to write about what happened at Comic Con.

First of all I’m a nerd. I went to Comic Con for the first time in 2009 and loved every minute of it. I got to meet people that I never thought I would meet in my wildest dreams. Two of them I have massive crushes on. They’re hot. I can’t help it. This last year I got to take my mom and brother for their first time. If you have never been to Comic Con, it is very hard to describe all of it in detail. Imagine about a quarter of a million people all crammed into a small space for that amount of people. How San Diego does it is beyond me but I’m glad that they do.

Between the two years that I have gone, I have met nine actors. But the last person I met at Comic Con was the best moment of my life. I am not kidding you. People have criticized me for being a fan of Chuck. I love the show. Words cannot describe how much I love watching Chuck. Just before the 2009 Comic Con, my car broke down and I was forced to miss the Chuck panel. I was so angry with my car that weekend. So this year I told my mom and brother I was not going to miss this panel. No way in hell. I am not afraid or embarrassed to admit that Zachary Levi is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! Yes I know I’m being a dork right now and I don’t care. I have the biggest freaking crush on him. Anyway…

Me with Zachary Levi at Comic Con 2010

On that Sunday, my mom, brother and I were headed up the back escalator to the Marriot to get some free stuff at the Fulfillment Room. As we rounded the corner there was a guy getting a picture with Zach. OMG!! I did not hesitate in asking Zach if I could have a picture too. I was dressed like an idiot but I was comfortable in the San Diego humidity. Zach said sure and as I was getting my camera out, my mom said something about having to deal with my camera (her and digital cameras do not get along) and Zach’s friend Eric Blackman said that he would take it. Eric is a photographer so I didn’t have any problem with handing him my camera. I was at the point of speak now, think later. I told Eric that I recognize him from the Europe photos and he kind of laughed. Zach and Eric went on this trip through Europe and share over 1500 pictures on Facebook. It was incredible. Zach wasn’t feeling too well and his voice was going, but he still took the time to take pictures with a few fans. I would have respected his wishes if he had said no, but was thankful that he did.

Just like with some of the others that I have gotten photos with, he basically hugged me. It wasn’t like okay just stand here next to me and get the picture over with. No. Not with him. Zach is very nice and I’m glad that he put up with me geeking out over meeting him. I blurted out that I love Chuck before my brain could stop my mouth. I have kept my cool with some of the others that I have met, but with Zach it was different.

I do my best not to get star struck. At Comic Con, you never know who you will run into or who will run into you. My brother got bumped into by Morgan Freeman! Most of the time the actors that go to Comic Con are fans just like us and most of the time they are the biggest geeks around. I don’t read comic books or graphic novels, but I like the stories that they have to tell. I actually cannot read them. Maybe it’s a dyslexic thing. I don’t know. I find them hard to read. I like going to Comic Con for the sci-fi, fantasy and whatever shows that I watch. It’s great to see the actor that you watch each week and entertain you, on a panel before you talking about the show that they work so hard on. I’ve seen Stan Lee. I never thought that would happen. I never thought that I would meet Zachary Levi either.

Zach if you ever read this, thank you doesn’t seem like enough to thank you for giving me the opportunity to meet you. I’m sorry you weren’t feeling well that day. Thank you so much for everything you have done on Chuck and I hope the show goes on for a long time. I know you guys, as well as us fans, have had our battles to keep the show on the air, but all of your guys’ hard work gives us a reason to fight for the show. You are an extremely talented actor and a wonderful guy. Thank you so much.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Moment of Comic Con 2010

Leave a Reply

