Migraines

Consider yourself lucky if you have never had a migraine. I was about 20 when I had my first and it was just before we found out that I have Celiac Disease. I remember getting ready to go to my French class in the morning and I sat on the edge of my bed to put my shoes on. The next thing I knew I was sitting on the floor having no idea how I got to be on the floor. I must have slipped off the edge of the bed and all I can say is thank God I was sitting down. I don’t think I have ever blacked out before then either. I chose not to miss the class because I had a test that I could not make up and I was getting straight A’s in the class. I warned the teacher that I was having my first migraine and she told me to leave as soon as I was done with the test.

Since being diagnosed with Celiac Disease eight and a half years ago, I have had several, from tolerable to severe. Nothing works to get rid of them. Yesterday I started getting a headache around three o’clock and it progressively got worse. Three hours later I had a full-blown migraine. Some people will say that they are having a migraine when they just have a really bad headache. They are completely different.

My migraines are usually one of the first signs that I got gluten in my system and I’m in the beginning stage of having a Celiac attack. What I felt last night was the perfect way to describe the pain of a migraine. I tossed and turned the entire night because wherever my pillow touched my head, it felt like someone was taking a sledgehammer to that area of my skull. The faintest light feels like you are staring at the sun. I have my laptop on the dimmest setting it has and it is still too bright. Sound to me is the worst. That is the one thing I cannot describe quite right.

Two and a half years ago, while I was unemployed (thank God) I had the worst migraine of my life. It lasted for three days. One thing that you have to understand with Celiac Disease is the gluten is hidden amongst a lot of different things. I was using this amazing lotion I got from Bath and Body Works but I failed to realize that it contained oats. Oats are naturally gluten-free but get contaminated when processed. It took three to four months for enough gluten to build in my system to cause an attack. Once gluten gets into a Celiac’s system and damages the villi (they line your small intestine and they absorb the nutrients from the food as it is digested) it can take up to two years for the symptoms to pass. I don’t necessarily need to ingest gluten to have an attack. I don’t remember when the last time I ingested gluten but this latest migraine could be from a number of things.

I will never know what exactly causes me to be in this much pain, but when I do have a migraine, I need dark, silence and sleep. VicodinĀ half the time won’t even touch the pain. I managed to get through most of work today. My supervisor sent me home 45 minutes early and I decided to miss my meeting with my quilt guild. The hardest thing to deal with when having a migraine is having to skip certain things that you love because you know they will just make everything worse. I have noticed over the years that I have been having more and more migraines. I’m not sure why but I pretty much know how to handle them. This one that I have had these last few days has finally lessened and I am happy about that. Pray that you never get them. They truly are the most excruciating pain that I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

