My Passion

My mom gave me ideas today at lunch after writing yesterday that I feel like I’m running out of things to blog about. As I was looking through my photos, I landed in one folder. Flashback Friday it is then.

I worked at Baskin Robbins three times for a total of just over six years worth of experience. Richard first hired me on August 3, 2000 (yes I still remember that date); it was my first job other than babysitting here and there. I almost quit after the first week. Too much to remember and I wasn’t sure if I could do the job. I wanted to save up for a car and to move out of Bishop so I stuck with it. I quit on August 3, 2003 to move to Phoenix, Arizona. My aunt and uncle offered me a room in their apartment and if I would be a nanny to my cousin Autumn. Five months later I found myself back in Bishop without a job. Richard offered me a position until something better came along. After trying to work a full-time job in Mammoth Lakes and a part-time job in Bishop was too much to handle and I stopped doing that after only a few weeks.

I quit from the bank in 2004 after 15 months due to stress of the constant 40 minute drive, one-way, between where I lived and where I worked. Richard immediately gave me a third chance to work at Basking Robbins and I discovered that it was my fall-back. Richard was difficult to work for but was always there if you ever needed anything. He expected the best from his employees and if you didn’t show that you were doing your best, you were gone. One thing that was great about him is that he let you bring something to do when business was slow. I don’t know how many books I read in between customers or how many stories I wrote or needlepoint that I worked on but never seemed to finish.

The cake decorator decided to leave and I asked Richard if I could try it. I hadn’t really decorated a cake like the ones that were sold in the store, but I was willing to take on the challenge and after much arguing, Richard let me. I learned by trial and error how to frost an ice cream cake. It’s frozen. You have to move fast in order to get it smooth before it freezes. I fell in love with decorating cakes within the first week of being able to show off my artistic abilities. I was the cake decorator for the last two and a half years the store was open. I learned a lot by working at Baskin Robbins and my parents and I even looked into buying it. I’m glad we didn’t but I know that there was no way we could have afforded it and the landlord screwed everybody over shortly after the store closed.

I had quite a few times trying so hard to keep the case full but it would never get that way. I also had a few times where the cakes just wouldn’t sell and I have to either cut the icing off and start fresh (the cake and ice cream were still good, the icing would go bad after a few days) or throw the cakes away.

I realized one day that I want to do this for a living. I decided that I wanted to open a bakery and one of these days I will. Over the last few years that I am the happiest while decorating a cake or even just baking in general. For this Flashback Friday I thought I would show you some of my best work. A couple of these has copyright images and no copyright infringement was intended. I just wanted to make a child’s birthday just that much more special.

An Americana Heart, 2007

Sabrina's Octopus, 2007

Paulapalooza, 2006

Macie's Hannah Montana Inpired Birthday Cake, 2008

Irene's African Grey, 2008

Scooby Doo, 2007

Neon Swirls, 2007

 

If you want to know ore about Flashback Fridays, please visit Christopher and Tia by clicking on the picture below.

One thought on “My Passion

  1. They’re all gorgeous, Courtney! I did a little bit of cake decorating when I was in high school, and it was so much fun, but turns out I’m just no good at it, haha. I sure did try though. YOUR cakes though, are wonderful. You definately have talent there.

Leave a Reply

