Yoga

I realized tonight that this is my 100th post. Yet, I don’t plan on writing anything too important. Sorry. Tonight I attempted yoga for the first time. I was only able to do half the poses knowing that my body would not agree with the ones I chose not to do. They will be something to work up to. I know that yoga is not something that you can just jump into and go overboard with. That’s why people get injured. I’m hoping that doing yoga will help let go of my stress and help me focus on losing weight.

I was able to do the poses for about 20 minutes and I was surprised at the end how lose my body felt. I know that I did almost all of the poses slightly wrong but I went to the point that my body can handle. My spine doesn’t go that straight. What can I say? I have moderate scoliosis. Yoga could help that or not. That is one of the reasons why I don’t know exactly how tall I am. If my spine is tight, I’m obviously going to measure slightly shorter because I can’t straighten my back to its full extent. The health clinic that I go to, doesn’t measure people correctly and I know that I am taller than the 5’9″ it says on my chart. My brother and I are sure that if I didn’t have scoliosis, I would more than likely be over six feet tall.

My grandpa used to slightly hit my upper back to force me to stand up taller. One day he hit me a little too hard and I nearly collapsed. He didn’t know that my back was really bothering me that day and couldn’t stand up straighter than what I was. To this day, people still think I’m slouching when I am actually standing as tall as I can.

I’ve wanted to start doing yoga for years. Now was the time to start and I’m glad I did.

One thought on “Yoga

  1. yoga is probably the best thing that I do for myself. I think that if you stick with it, you’ll get so much from it. Its calming. Its strengthening. To me, its the perfect workout. Good luck, Courtney!

Leave a Reply

