Haunted

There are people who think I’m crazy because I believe in ghosts. It usually gets worse when they hear that I firmly believe that I am haunted. Not the area around me but me.

My first experience that I cannot explain was when I was about sixteen and I was helping to clean up an area of Cerro Gordo. We were playing cards in the Bunk House and my dad and I were sitting up against the wall. I felt five distinct fingers slowly moving down my back. I thought my dad was doing it but when I looked in his direction, both of his hands were in front of him. I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was being watched. I tried to shrug it off and went to bed. My mom and I stayed in the “haunted” room at the end of the hall. We were getting ready to leave and she was in front of me and no one else was in the house. I felt a woman’s finger creating a small circle on my back in between my shoulders. I know it was a woman’s finger because I could feel a fingernail. I turned around and nobody was there. I still refused to believe that it could be anything paranormal because I had not seen a ghost. I have also smelled rose perfume in a room when a woman had not been there and my mom and I both don’t wear any due to allergies.

My last experience at Cerro Gordo is the most memorable. All of the rooms were taken so we stayed in a tent outside near the house we were helping to restore. The full moon was up and you could see the slightest shadows through the tent. I’m not sure what woke me that night, but I heard footsteps outside the tent by where my head was. I looked the best I could but could not make out a shadow of anyone. I kept listening and noticed a specific sound in the footsteps. Spurs? I asked Mike, one of the owners, the next morning if anyone wears spurs. Mike said that he didn’t see anyone wearing spurs. I told him what I heard and he seemed fascinated that I would hear something like that. I think he added it to the list of experiences people have had.

This brings me to my ghost. While I worked at Baskin Robbins, we heard so many things that cannot be explained. We would hear kids playing and doors to the cases open and close. You have to understand that the cases were freezers. Whenever you open them and then close them, the warm air got sucked out to keep them at a certain temperature and these freezers were loud. One morning while I was decorating some cakes before we opened, I heard a noise from the dining area. From my cake decorating area behind the freezers, I could see a lot of the dining area in the reflection in a display fixture on the wall. I knew I was the only one in the store and the doors were locked. When I looked in the display, I saw a shadowy figure of a man in a cowboy hat standing against the wall. It frightened me and I practically ran to look around the case. Out of instinct, I grabbed my big knife off my counter. It was dull but I knew it would do damage if I had to. Nobody was there. I put my cakes back in the freezer and walked to Starbucks for a coffee and waited for my boss to get there. I didn’t want to be alone in that building. After that I started seeing and hearing a woman. She made me very uncomfortable and I just felt like it was a menacing spirit.

I saw the cowboy a few more times in the final years the store was open. Shortly after it closed, I started seeing shadows in my apartment. I have seen Cowboy in my apartment a few times. He doesn’t make me feel uncomfortable and it’s almost like he’s my guardian. He usually shows up after a very stressful day or when I’m feeling down. I don’t know if this is all in my head or actual paranormal experiences. I guess I’ll never know, but I believe that there are some things that happen in this world that cannot be explained.

I would love to do an investigation with TAPS from Ghost Hunters or even go to some of the places that Josh Gates and his team have been to on Destination Truth. The only thing that would hold me back is I tend to spook easily. Even with that I would just love to get an answer to a lot of questions that have built up in me over the last thirteen years since I felt the hand moving down my back. People can call me crazy all they want, but I will continue to believe in ghosts.

During the two years I have been to Comic Con, I have been able to meet Josh Gates twice and Amy Bruni and Kris Williams from Ghost Hunters once.

Josh Gates and Me, Comic Con 2009

Kris Williams, Amy Bruni, Josh Gates and me, Comic Con 2010

Leave a Reply

