Kindle App for the iPhone

One of the first apps I downloaded for my new iPhone was the Kindle. (Thank you Bryan) I LOVE IT!! First of all I love to read but lately I have a hard time picking up a book and sticking with it. Once I stared at the app for a few weeks, I decided it was time to download a book and start reading again. What book to buy?

Getting on Amazon to download a book for the app is like walking into a bookstore. Where do you start? Especially when you’re me and read quite a few different genres. Then I remembered one series I have been wanting to read for over a year. The Vampire Diaries. I love the show (not to mention vampires) and knew that the TV series and the books differ, but that’s okay. I found Awakening by L. J. Smith and hit download. It didn’t take long for the novel to download and off I went. Immediately I found a lot of differences between the characters I have grown to love on the TV show and the characters I was discovering in the book. Very different but I like that both versions of the story have taken on their own life.

It wasn’t until tonight that Margi (my Mexican Mama) told me that she has a Kindle (the full one not the app for the iPhone) and she said that the classic novels are free. Free books was all I needed to hear but I have a long list of classic novels that I have wanted to read for the longest time but never found myself picking them up. My app came with Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austin, Aesop’s Fables, Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson and the dictionary. Tonight I downloaded quite a few other classic novels and now I have quite a few books to read this year on top of all the books sitting on my bookshelves.

No matter how convenient and neat the Kindle or other electronic reading devices are, I will never give up a paper book. There is something about holding a book in your hands and reading the stories they hold waiting for you to discover them.

“When you sell a man a book, you don’t sell him twelve ounces of paper and ink and glue… you sell him a whole new life.” ~ Christopher Morley

One thought on “Kindle App for the iPhone

  1. I have the kindle app on my iPhone, too. I’ve purchased one book so far for it, but still haven’t been able to stick with it. For one thing, the screen is small. But then there’s the fact that, at heart, I’m old fashioned and I love reading the real thing. I’d never heard that Christopher Morley quote before. Thank you for sharing it, I love your post.

Leave a Reply

