Trying Something New

I haven’t really lost a lot of weight since I started Weight Watchers but I have mainly lost inches. All of my clothes are beginning to get bigger and as I can afford to buy a few new clothes, I’ve realized that I’m kind of changing my style. I am a tomboy through and through. I hate skirts and dresses and you can almost always find me in a t-shirt and jeans with either my tennis shoes or my Converse. Most of my clothes are dark, mostly black or charcoal grey.

Last week, on our way down to Southern California, we stopped at the mall in Palmdale and I wanted to visit Old Navy. I avoided the store so much in the past because I never thought I could fit into the clothes. I had no idea that they have plus size clothing that is cheap and very cute. I gave myself a budget of $50 for that day and I wanted to get some shirts that I could wear to work, but still be comfortable in on the weekends. My mom came with me and I told her that I wanted to avoid my usual go to’s of black and grey.

I jumped from shelf to shelf absorbing the rainbow of shirts around me. A few times I gravitated towards the colors I didn’t want and had to almost slap myself in the middle of the store. I ended up getting shirts that were green, purple, pink (shocking for me I know), blue, a darker green knitted vest and a St. Patrick’s Day t-shirt. The St. Patrick’s shirt was my over budget gift to myself and was the only thing that was grey. Of course I wasn’t paying attention and got one size bigger than what I wanted but I hope that it will shrink just a little and it makes a great bed shirt. I was able to get six shirts for $57 and change. I typically spend that much on one pair of jeans.

My closet is gaining more and more colors for me to choose from and I couldn’t be happier. I’m beginning to wear things that I would never had thought I would be interested in. I’m even thinking about getting a pair of skinny jeans so long as I can wear them just right. I’m opening my mind to more clothing options as my body is changing into something that makes me happy. I wish I could afford to buy a whole new wardrobe right now, but my credit card debt keeps me from going overboard. A little here and there is better in my opinion. I will get out of my comfort zone when it comes to the colors of my clothing. I am determined to discover what makes me happy and comfortable with my body.

One thought on “Trying Something New

  1. Keep at it and the weight will start to come off. My step dad does weight watchers whenever he gets about his ideal weight and they always help get him back down.

    I can’t wait to get a new wardrobe once I get to my ideal weight. All the way down, I have been buying 1 or 2 pairs of pants. I can’t buy much since they won’t fit for long as I continue the path down the scale.

    Good luck on continued success and have a great weekend.

    The Grumpy Man

Leave a Reply

