Superstition

I’ve never really understood why people have superstitions, but I only have one and that usually shocks people. My only one deals with tomorrow – St. Patrick’s Day. It doesn’t have anything to do with the fact that I am half Irish, but rather an experience that I had when I was a kid.

I don’t remember how old I was, but the only time that I can remember not wearing green on St. Patrick’s Day, I fell down half a flight of stairs. Ever since then, I wear green to bed the night before. I always make sure that I am wearing green for the full 24 hours on March 17th.

People don’t really understand why, out of every possibility for superstitions, mine has to be this. Irish tradition states that green attracts leprechaun, while red keeps them away, which is why Irish people have red hair. I try to wear both red and green, but most of the time I find myself only wearing green. I do have some red naturally in my hair but for the most part, the red that is in my hair now is dyed.

All I can say is that with ten minutes left tonight before midnight on St. Patrick’s Day, I better get some green on me. Knowing that I have little time left, I feel nervous. Superstitions are weird. I never know how I will feel on St. Patrick’s Day if I somehow forget to wear green. This year though, I’m feeling a little better knowing that I now have green permanently imbedded in my skin with my tattoo.

I hope you all wear green tomorrow so you don’t get pinched. Everyone is Irish on St. Patrick’s Day. Please have a safe holiday. Don’t get too drunk on green beer and PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT DRINK AND DRIVE.

Leave a Reply

