Green All Around

Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone.

I wasn’t sure what to write about tonight, but because it is the day where everyone wears green, I decided to share a St. Patrick’s Day story with you. It doesn’t have anything to do with my superstition I wrote about yesterday and I don’t have any photos to share.

One of my best St. Patrick’s Day memories happened when I was in kindergarten. I remember getting to school and waiting outside in line with all of the kids, but we weren’t allowed to go into the classrooms. None of the teachers outside would tell us what was going on. I wasn’t in a really good mood that day so I sat on the edge of the sidewalk in front of classroom A and ignored the children playing around me. I didn’t want to be at school that day.

Finally after quite a while after the bell rang to start the day, the teachers came out of the three classrooms. They said that something happened in the classrooms during the night and they wanted to make sure that it was safe for us to enter. We all entered slowly, unsure of what we were walking into. Being first in line, I set the pace for the other students and I walked fairly slow. I saw chairs turned over and papers scattered on the floor. Green footprints all over the blackboard and walls is what got all of us talking and taking the whole sight in. Leprechauns invaded our classrooms. Once we took in everything, the teachers gathered us and we all worked on cleaning up the rooms and class began.

I don’t really remember anything else from that day, but the sight of the footprints on the walls have stuck with me through all of these years. I truly do believe that this day holds a special place in my heart. Maybe it’s because of my Irish heritage, but I love St. Patrick’s Day. I look forward to it every year. Today I was decked out in green, but unfortunately my stomach didn’t let me enjoy the day like I wanted.

One of these days I will make it to Ireland and hopefully I would be able to meet some of my kin.

May you be poor in misfortune
Rich in blessings
Slow to make enemies
Quick to make friends
But rich or poor,
Quick or slow,
May you know nothing but happiness
From this day forward

Leave a Reply

