Coffee Detox

I’ve done this before and people (including myself) didn’t think I could do it. I went almost two months without drinking coffee which, if you know me, is a feat. A couple of days ago, I decided to stop drinking coffee for a while or at least cut back. Depending on how I feel during the day I can easily drink one to one and a half pots of coffee. Yes you read that correctly. Pots, not cups.

I am addicted to coffee and I know it’s not the caffeine, but the taste of coffee that I am addicted to. My dad constantly tells me that I don’t drink coffee with all the crap that I doctor it up with. He’s made a few cast members at Disneyland laugh when he orders our coffee from the Market House. My dad orders the flavored coffee for my mom and me and real coffee for him. He has told them that he doesn’t drink the fru-fru crap.

Working at Starbucks for five months didn’t help my addiction either, but can probably be blamed for increasing my coffee consumption. I loved working for Starbucks and would be willing to go back, but not to the one that I worked at. Don’t get me wrong, it has nothing to do with the company, but I didn’t get along with one person I worked with. I won’t name anyone, but they still work there and treat me like crap when I come in there. I found out today that I’m not the only former employee that gets this treatment. Starbucks is a wonderful company to work for. They treat their employees extremely well and have excellent benefits.

I decided to give up my favorite drink for a little while for one main reason. I am trying to lose weight and I know that with how much coffee I drink, I cannot lose it as fast as I would like. I will probably try to go one week without it, but I’m thinking about walking to Starbucks tomorrow before the final day of performances of Once Upon a Mattress and treat myself. I know that if I have it just every now and then, it won’t hurt me or my diet. I just tend to go overboard with it. I get really dehydrated because that is all my body wants to drink so I tend to not drink any water.

My co-workers have seen how I make my coffee and they cannot believe that my body can handle that much sugar. I take a lot of flavored coffee creamer and Splenda or Sweet-n-Low. You can smell how sweet it is, but that is how I like it. I don’t like the bitter taste coffee has so I cut that out. I can still taste the natural taste of coffee but it just isn’t as strong.

We’ll see how long I can go or how much I can restrain myself from coffee. I have gone two days without it so far. I’m not sure if that’s just because I’ve been sick and have been drinking tea instead or if I just really want to take a break. I know tea is better for me anyway, but I do miss having my coffee in the morning.

Leave a Reply

