The Show Must Go On

I know I missed posting last night again, but I was at the cast party for Once Upon a Mattress and today we broke down the sets and took them to the warehouse. It’s kind of surreal that it’s over. It feel like it wasn’t too long ago that I was going through the audition process. Last night was our final two performances and the final crowd was great. Despite some illnesses that came up, the show must go on and we still put on a great performance while having a good time. Two people, one of the actors and one of the musicians has pneumonia, and another actor had the stomach flu.

Winnefred from backstage.

We were prepared for any nausea and vomiting that the performance may have caused during the performance and from what I heard, the audience had no idea that he was sick. He went on and did his best. Some of us were worried but knowing that we had at least three nurses and a doctor on hand, we were good. We didn’t have to use either of our vomit buckets off-stage so that was very good.

No matter what comes up, you suck it up and do your best. I have felt like crap for just over a week and I will be calling the doctor tomorrow, but I still went and did my stage crew duties and had a blast. I know that I’ve written about this before but Playhouse 395 is a family. Once you join it, you are in for life. We all look out for each other and take care of one another. It’s just what families do. When I heard that he was sick with the stomach flu, I felt like I turned into a mother hen. I was constantly looking for any sign that I needed to grab a bucket. We all asked him how he was feeling and offered either advise or support, whichever he needed. They did the same for me since I started coughing yesterday.

It is a surreal feeling when you finish a show. You get into a routine and I feel like I have rehearsal next week and a performance on Friday and Saturday, but I don’t. At the same time it feels like a huge weight has been lifted. There’s no more running, literally, from work to the play. There’s no more gathering backstage, chatting or making jokes, waiting for the signal to open the red curtain. There’s no more “lights up, cast on” being said from Donnie, the Stage Manager, until it is time for the next show.

This is not the first time that Playhouse has had a performance where one or all of the cast was sick. This first Playhouse 395 performance that my mom and I went to was Annie. The night we went, almost the entire cast had a cold. The singing was great and so what if the actors all had to pause for a moment to wipe their nose with a kleenex in the middle of a scene. We all knew and felt like it was rehearsed from the get-go. This is the first time that I have had to do a play while being under the weather, but I still had a great time.

Well I can feel the Nyquil take effect. I’m off to bed about two hours early so I can get enough sleep for work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

