Lungs on Fire

I’ve been sick for a little over a week now and it’s getting worse. I started getting a scratchy throat about the beginning of last week and before I knew it, my lungs were getting tight. I was tested for asthma when I was a kid and was having a hard time catching my breath after playing soccer. My doctor said that I had a mild case of asthma and that it would be a good idea to keep an inhaler on hand, just in case.

I remember the day when I was about five or six years old and my grandma picked me up from the bus stop. My mom had gone to the hospital because of an asthma attack. It scared the crap out of me to see my mom hooked up to the heart monitor because I didn’t know what it was. All I saw were a bunch of wires coming out of my mom’s gown. Knowing that she had asthma made her get me tested. I’ve never had an asthma attack, but I am pretty sure that I’ve gotten close.

This cold that I have has been different from any that I have ever had. My nose never got stuffy until a few days ago. My lungs have just felt tight and burning. The coughing really started on Saturday and keeps getting worse. I had to work the whole day today because one of my co-workers called in sick, but I usually go into work and wait until they send me home. I always feel bad calling in sick so if I do, my co-workers know that I really don’t feel good.

As I write this, my throat is starting to feel like it is slowly getting ripped apart and I am short of breath. It feels like my inhaler has stopped working but I keep using it because I know it will help to keep my lungs open. I walk at half my pace and can’t catch my breath once I stop. I haven’t felt light-headed yet, but no matter how slow I am to get up, I get dizzy.

Today at work, I looked up the symptoms of bronchitis and I match most of the symptoms. To make matters worse, I can’t get in to see the doctor until Thursday. I just got all of my medical bills paid off and I have to get sick before I can save up some money in my Health Savings account. I’ve been around people who have pneumonia, the common cold and the stomach flu. God only knows what else I have been exposed to since I work around the public and money. You don’t want to know what is on money.

I think I’m going to go take a nice warm shower, take some meds and go to bed. I haven’t really been taking meds with this. It just seems like what ever I try, doesn’t work. I know rest is the best thing for me. I should have known that I was getting sick last week when I slept for 15 hours. I thought it was just exhaustion. Turns out I was wrong. I do regret not calling the doctor sooner. I always seem to wait until the last minute. What can I say? I don’t really trust the doctors around here. Oh well. Off to bed I go.

2 thoughts on “Lungs on Fire

  1. I would love to know the template you use on wordpress. I am so not tech savy…but I love the setup of your page. Also…love what you write about.

  2. It sounds like a respratory infection but if it persists make sure you have your heart checked out. Specifically for pulmonary hypertension. It is rare but can and does strike in every other age group young and old. Look it up online and it’s causes. No this is not related to high blood pressure. If the doctor you see thinks it is related to blood pressure, go to a different doctor.

    Symptoms of pulmonary hypertension do not usually occur until the condition has progressed. The first symptom of pulmonary hypertension is usually shortness of breath with everyday activities, such as climbing stairs. Fatigue, dizziness, and fainting spells also can be symptoms. Swelling in the ankles, abdomen or legs; bluish lips and skin, and chest pain may occur as strain on the heart increases. Symptoms range in severity and a given patient may not have all of the symptoms.

    In more advanced stages of the disease, even minimal activity will produce some of the symptoms. Additional symptoms include irregular heart beat (palpitations or strong, throbbing sensation), racing pulse, passing out or dizziness, progressive shortness of breath during exercise or activity, and difficulty breathing at rest. Eventually, it may become difficult to carry out any activities as the disease worsens.

Leave a Reply

