Proud to Be a Gleek

I had my reservations when I heard that Fox was going to do a show about a high school glee club but when the pilot aired, I was hooked. One of the things I wished we had when I was in high school was a glee club, but we only had choir and I spent five and a half years singing. Glee has become one of my favorite shows. The talent of every actor on that show is amazing.

Tonight’s episode was their 90 minute special episode and it dealt with acceptance. To me Glee is able to connect with people of all ages, young and old. The show deals with many topics that we face day-to-day. I know that I’ve opened up a little on here about the bullying that I received in school but this episode made me wish that I had dealt with it a lot sooner. I’m not sure what person I would be today if it wasn’t for the bullying. It took me fourteen years to put an end to it.

One of the things that I really liked was that Mr. Shuster made the students in Glee Club wear white shirts that they had to put one thing about themselves that they have never been comfortable with but that they were born that way. I’m not sure what my thing would be. I would probably use something like insecure or lack of self-esteem.

Glee had a contest and I’m pretty sure it’s now over, but they asked gleeks to make a video stating what Glee has done for them. I never got around to making a video, but I thought I would share what the show has done for me. Glee came around shortly after I bombed my first play audition and I lost the faith in myself that I actually can sing in front of people. I’ve done it before but never solo so I tend to sing flat no matter how hard I try. Because of Glee I have stood up there on the stage and failed at two more auditions. Whether or not I get a part is not my point. My point is that I got back up there and did my best. I have learned with every audition and I have improved.

After my second attempt at an audition, I began my journey to be a part of the theatre in any way that I could be needed. I have done Stage Crew for two plays and absolutely love it. I love being on-stage and off. My mom told me today that maybe I’m meant to be behind the scenes instead of being on the stage performing. I’m okay with that, but I want to experience everything that theatre has to offer. I’ve learned so much in just a few plays and it has given me the courage to keep trying and I refuse to give up.

I have been able to relate to so many of the episodes. Because of the bullying that I received in school, I threatened suicide from the ages of ten to fifteen. Looking back I can see how many things I would have missed had I actually gone through with it. Having a strong, supportive family and friends saved my life. Being in choir, I was always asked if I would be interested in joining the drama club and not joining has been one of the few regrets I have from my whole high school experience. I have always been interested in acting, but never had the courage to do something about it. Until now.

It took me fourteen years to stand up to my bullies. I finally had enough and told them to stop and even fought back. I never got into a physical fight but I started pointing things out about them and turning their words around. I would then tell them how that felt and point out to them that they had been doing that to me my whole life. Out of all of the bullies, only one actually apologized to me at the beginning of our senior year. I accepted her apology and moved on with my life. I never forgave her for her actions, but I at least accepted her apology. I’m now 29 and the memories still haunt me today. It’s because of the bullying that I have a hard time looking in the mirror and truly believe that a beautiful girl is staring back at me. Hard as I might try, I don’t see myself as a beautiful woman. I know I am, but I can’t always see it.

Glee has done a great job dealing with these very hard topics for teenagers. I hope that they have done something to change how some people view others and have helped some teens deal with events that shape who we are. For everything that the show has done for us fans, I would love to see fans repay the cast and crew. I have thought that it would be fun for some of the show’s fans to perform a few of the songs that the cast has performed on the show at Comic Con or another big event. Something to show the cast and crew how much they have done for us fans. I think it would be fun.

Thank you to the cast and crew of Glee for giving us a wonderful show. I know that I can never thank you enough for everything that you guys have tackled on the show.

Leave a Reply

