Four Years and Counting

Given the fact that I’m not feeling well right now, I had every intention of doing a Wordless Wednesday, but my boss figured something out today that has stuck with me all day and thought I’d share. I have been working for my bank for a total of four years now. This all came up because next month we are supposed to have a mandatory training for the basic teller/operations side of the bank, but I’m pretty much the only teller that will go, unless the two others that we have can make it. It would be a refresher course for me.

So Charlie, my boss, asked me today how long I have worked for the bank. I told her that next month will be two and a half years. She then asked about the time before and I said fifteen months. I will not tell you what back specifically that I work for and you have to understand that it is for security purposes. There is so much that happens in order for a bank to operate. Most people either don’t know this or don’t care.

Most of the time you walk into the bank and make a deposit or a withdrawal and you leave. It’s the things that happen after the customer leaves that makes working at a bank interesting. There is so much that goes into one deposit. You have to verify the amount of cash you are taking in or giving out and sometimes you have to count it three or more times just to make sure. You have to balance at the end of the day and when you don’t, even by one cent, it’s frustrating because you want to know where you messed up. You may find it the next day or you may not. I’ve learned not to get discouraged by it. I’ve made little mistakes as well as big ones.

The question that I get asked a lot is, “Do you ever get nervous working around all that cash?” No. Simple as that. One thing that you have to understand is that while yes I do work around thousands of dollars every day, and I have held a million dollars before, it’s not my money. I don’t own it. All I am there for is to protect it.

The other question that I get asked is if I ever get nervous about getting robbed. Of course. Nobody wants to get robbed no matter where you work. We have robbery procedures and we take every action that we can to avoid one. As far as robberies are concerned, I live in a small town and we have a bank robbery once in every five years maybe. We also have three roads in and out of town and they can be cut off really fast. About six months ago one of the banks across the street from us got robbed at gunpoint. When they issued the picture of the guy, he looked familiar but I couldn’t place where I have seen him before. The more I thought about it, it came to me. He came into our branch before and when I or someone else said hello to him before he could get a ways in the door, he turned and looked at the flyers we have on a desk and left. He cased us. It could have been a different guy but the way he acted triggered something in my brain. We are trained on what to do in case of a robbery but you still don’t know how you will act when it actually happens to you.

There is only one downfall to working at a bank. People tend to blame everyone at the bank when they overdraw their account or something else happens. We are just there to store and protect your money. What you do with it on you own is up to you to keep track of it. People will always ask us for their balance and then wonder why they still overdrew their account. We have to explain to them that the balance that we have does not include checks that haven’t cleared because checks don’t clear your account immediately. They can take up to six months or more, depending on when the person decides to do something with it.

While I love my job, my customers and my co-workers, banking is not what I want to do with the rest of my life. I am thankful to have a job in this economy and am trying to learn everything that I can about the banking world. I can always use it as a backup if I never get to open my bakery. We are a fairly small bank and will be celebrating our 20th year in business at the end of this month and I am grateful to experience at least four years of that.

Leave a Reply

