The Looney Bean

Today one of our local coffee shops opened again after being bought by the original owner and a small remodel. I cannot tell you how happy I am. Lately I’ve felt like supporting the local “mom & pop” stores instead of the big corporations that really don’t care about small towns, so long as they get our money. I never really liked going to The Looney Bean before because half the time we had to tell the employees how to make our drinks correctly. Now that it has gone back to the original owner, we get to have The Looney Bean as it was always meant to be.

They have fun names for their drinks, like Velvet Elvis or Caramelicious, which makes it fun. Their prices are similar to those at Starbucks but unlike Starbucks the money that we spend stays in the community and I like that. They have what sounds like a great point system where every dollar that you spend equals one point. Once you reach a certain amount of points, you get a free drink. I love that idea and I have a feeling that these employees are going to get to know me. I work not too far from there and so long as I don’t go overboard, I will be drinking quite a bit there.

My co-workers and I keep trying a different drink every time we go. My favorite so far is the Caramelicious, a caramel-vanilla latte. It’s a perfect balance of sweet from the caramel and the bitterness of espresso. As far as cold drinks, I tried the Frosted Mint Mocha today. I’ll warn you, it’s rich and VERY minty. It is wonderful. Brent, the owner, told me to tell him if was overly-chocolatey. I told him there is no such thing as too much chocolate. At least I believe there is no such thing as too much chocolate.

Leave a Reply

